From Profile Picture Analysis to Cute Puppy Videos

I have most of the popular social media accounts, however, I am more active on some of them compared to the rest. I am most active of Instagram, Snapchat and Facebook. I believe those are the social media platforms that are the most popular currently. I do also have Twitter, LinkedIn, Pinterest, and Youtube, but I rarely or ever post on them.

pic

My current Facebook profile picture.

According to the study conducted by Liu et al (2016) “Analyzing Personality through Social Media Profile Picture Choice, users with conscientious, agreeable and extravert seem to post pictures with at least one face, usually presenting positive emotions through their facial expressions. Analyzing my current Facebook profile picture, I would say the study analysis would be fairly correct in my case. My face is directly pointed at the camera and I have a big smile on my face. My personality is pretty extroverted and outgoing. I would also consider myself warm and friendly and I like social harmony. Conscientiousness would also describe my personality, I always need to know the plan, I like guidance and I am very self-disciplined.

I rarely post my own content to Facebook. Sometimes I might post a picture with my friends, but mostly I just share interesting links and videos. Even though these next examples are shares, I would consider them for this activity because I did try to send a message through them. One of the latest content I shared on Facebook was a video called “These Fitness Models Are Sharing What They Look Like When They’re Not Posing.” The video describes Fitness blogger Anna Victoria receiving an email from a young girl saying that all the “perfect” photos of models online are starting to affect her body confidence. These days so many young girls struggle with body image and self-esteem issues, and sometimes these cases can end really badly. The video consists of pictures posted online by models where they are not wearing make up, are sitting down and showing their belly rolls. The purpose of the video is to sent a message to girls struggling with body image issues that no one is perfect. Not even models, everyone has belly rolls, acne and not everything is as perfect as it seems.

I wanted to share this video because I used to be very self conscious of myself, and I know so many girls who struggle with not feeling beautiful. I like to share positive body image content on social media hoping to help someone struggling with these issues.

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2FDavidAvocadoWolfe%2Fvideos%2F10154206158021512%2F&show_text=0&width=400

Another one of my shares was a similar case. I shared a picture with Tweets body shaming Lady Gaga next to Lady Gaga’s picture from the Super Bowl. This year Lady Gaga had an amazing performance during the Super Bowl half time show and in the end of her performance, she was performing in tiny shorts and a jacket showing her middle section. First of all, Lady Gaga is extremely fit and skinny, and beautiful. However, she has a tiny lower belly bump that was very noticeable during her performance.

 

Screen Shot 2017-02-19 at 7.32.31 PM.png

The post posted by Brittany Dawn about Lady Gaga’s body shaming.

Her middle section got lot of attention on social media right after her performance. People tweeting “Lady Gaga needs to do some crunches if she wants to show her flabby belly.” This picture was originally posted by a Fitness Model Brittany Dawn with a caption including “I hope you realize that people like YOU are the reason why women fall into eating disorders, feel obligated to starve themselves, or stand in front or mirrors and pick themselves apart, day after day.”

I shared the post and added a caption “Seriously??” For me it was important to share this post for the similar reasons I shared the video with fitness models I earlier mentioned. The tweets were absolutely ridiculous and Brittany makes a great point in her post.

Most of my posts/shares on Facebook are something important/interesting or cool that I want people to know about. I love sharing posts with positive body image content and anything about self-love. Other than important posts and shares, I sometimes like to share a cute puppy video just to put a smile on the faces of my friends :).

(Such as this one: )

https://www.facebook.com/plugins/video.php?href=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.facebook.com%2Fbarkbox%2Fvideos%2F1222346504468065%2F&show_text=0&width=400

