Blog 9

Hailey Jackson

COM395HYB

Blog 9

 

 

After analyzing social media and certain platforms, I have obtained a significant amount of information that I can carry with me in the future. Social media has advanced in our generation and will continue to advance. The knowledge I have acquired from this class will not only help my awareness of the personal image I am creating for myself online, but using it for other purposes including business, politics, etc. I learned significant ways that politicians have used social media to expressing their political views on platforms such as Twitter and Facebook. With political colloquy, fake news has been a common factor that comes about on social media feeds. The TED Talk titled “How false news can spread” (2015) helps the audience understand how fake news comes about, and why it circles around social media sites and does not instantly die down. The TED talk explains the reasoning behind fake news making such an impact on the audience on social media platforms, how it is generated, and why it does not get eliminated quickly. This was one of my favorite videos because it goes in depth as to why people produce fake news and spread it to others, and I never considered this when being aware of fake news on my social media sites. Another one of my favorite readings is titled “Managing social media crises with your customers: The good, the bad, and the ugly” (2015). This reading describes a behavior of what social media teams should do during a crisis, and provides examples as to what has happened in the past and how we can learn from other’s mistakes. Social media can be used to our advantage when alerting the people of a crisis, and can help answer questions or serve as a update when we are relaying information to people who would like to know all angles of the situation. I can use social media insight in my career by using it as a promotion method for companies, as well as promoting myself as a potential employee. I can use it within my personal life to create a positive image of who I am and what I stand for, through pictures, tweets, texts, videos, etc. I can use it to send a message to others, and communicate with other users.

